Babybird

Babybird

I saw a baby Wattlebird hopping about on the ground this morning, near the edge of the dirt driveway.
We were on our way out for the day.
Coming back this arvo from our day out, we saw that the babybird was still there. Tony stopped the car for me to see the little fellow, & the babybird just hopped onto my shoe, pecking at me like I was its mother.
I thought that maybe I should take him home, but didn’t, even though I thought it’s parents may have been killed or something.
It’s a little way on this dirt driveway before you reach our dirt driveway, about a five minute walk.
About an hour later I thought I’d take a walk to see if the babybird was still there.
He was!
Babybird came right up to me again & hopped onto my shoe.
There was no sign of the parent birds.
I leant down with my hat open & said that if babybird hops into my hat, I’m meant to take him home.
Guess what, baby bird hopped into my hat!
I carried babybird a short distance & he hopped onto my left hand & then over to my right hand.
Then he flew over a fence into a paddock.
It was no good in there for him, because he was open prey for predator birds, & there was no shelter from the hot sun.
I saw a Peregrine falcon flying over, & looking by the way he was flying, I new that he had noticed babybird.
I managed to coax babybird out through the fence, & onto my hat again.
He seemed to listen to me.
No.
Really.
Then I cradled him in my hands, & we walked on to our place.
As we walked into our property I did notice an adult Wattlebird in the big Wattle tree.
I took babybird to the bird bath.
He drank a tiny bit with his snakey tongue.
Then he flew straight into our back porch area, through the door & seemingly trying to get into the house through the back window.
Then he flew out & sat on a perch near the rain water tank.
I did see a Nankeen Kestrel flying over then too, & thought that he was probably interested in babybird too.
I was able to watch babybird through the kitchen window.
Then I saw an adult Wattlebird coming close to babybird & thought that I might have to intervene, if Wattlebirds aren’t friendly to their own kind.
Another Wattlebird flew in & they seemed to be all talking to each other.
After a few more minutes babybird flew off with the two Wattlebirds in the direction of the large Wattle tree.
They adopted babybird! I cried out happily to Tony.
Now that’s a good ending story heh!OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

